2021 Kolshorn Lecture

"Coloring the Conservation Conversation" by Dr. Drew Lanham

Dr Drew Lanham portrait
EMT Agency, LLC

Due to the ongoing and unfolding events happening in the Twin Cities and in consultation with our invited speaker, Dr. J. Drew Lanham, we have decided to postpone the Kolshorn Lecture scheduled for 5 p.m. April 21, 2021.

We are rescheduling Dr. Lanham’s presentation, “Coloring the Conservation Conversation” for September 2021. We will be in touch with you after confirming a specific date and time for the rescheduled event.

Thank you for your understanding, and we hope to see you in September.

A native of Edgefield, South Carolina, J. Drew Lanham is the author of The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man’s Love Affair with Nature, which received the Reed Award from the Southern Environmental Law Center and the Southern Book Prize, and was a finalist for the John Burroughs Medal. He is a birder, naturalist, and hunter-conservationist who has published essays and poetry in publications including Orion, Audubon, Flycatcher, and Wilderness, and in several anthologies, including The Colors of Nature, State of the Heart, Bartram’s Living Legacy, and Carolina Writers at Home.

An Alumni Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master Teacher at Clemson University, he and his family live in the Upstate of South Carolina, a soaring hawk’s downhill glide from the southern Appalachian escarpment that the Cherokee once called the Blue Wall.

Past Kolshorn Lecturers

2019Dr. Heather Leslie (University of Maine Darling Marine Center)
2018Dr. Jonathan Losos (Washington University)
2017Dr. Marie-Josée Fortin (University of Toronto)
2016Dr. Janis Dickinson (Cornell Lab of Ornithology)
2015Dr. Donald Siniff (University of Minnesota)
2014Dr. Steven Cooke (Assoc. Prof, Carleton University (Ottawa, Ontario)
2013No Lecture
2012Dr. Eric Post (Pennsylvania State University)
2011Dr. David S. Wilcove (Princeton University)
2010No Lecture
2009Samuel Gruber (Director, Bimini Biological Field Station)
2008Dr. David B. Wake (UC-Berkeley)
2007Dr. Anthony Sinclair (University of British Columbia )
2006Daniel Simberloff (University of Tennessee)
2005Sam McNaughton (Syracuse University)
2004Dr. Gary Ankley (US Environmental Protection Agency)
2003Shane Mahoney (Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador)
2002William Mansfield (UNEP)
2001Dr. Theo Colburn (WWF; Author of Our Stolen Future)
2000Rodney Sando (Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game)
1999Carl Safina (Author)
1998Stephen O'Brien (NIH)
1997Richard Mace (Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks)
1996Melanie Stiassney (American Museum of Natural History)
1995Michael Wallace (San Diego Zoo)

Early Kolshorn Lecturers (1984 - 1994)

  • Pete Petosky
  • Carlos Fetterolf
  • Tom Lovejoy
  • Stewart Udall
  • Amy Vedder
  • E. Charles Meslow
  • Jim Brandenburg & David Mech

Otto KolshornEach year, the FWCB invites a distinguished scientist or conservationist to campus to give the Kolshorn Lecture. The Kolshorn lecture series was established in 1982 to honor Otto W. Kolshorn. Otto Kolshorn was a farmer, teacher, school board member, and Justice-of-the Peace from Goodhue County, Minnesota, who served 5 terms in the Minnesota House of Representatives.

FWCB's annual award ceremony is held in conjunction with the Kolshorn Lecture. The Distinguished Alumni Award is presented and students receiving fellowships and scholarships are honored.